Find Landmark building Attractions in , search things to do and see in your holiday location with QLD Tourism.
St Helena Island is Queensland’s most historic island. This beautiful National Park is located four kilometres from the mouth of the Brisbane River and for more than 60 years was home to hundreds of society’s outcasts, for here stood colonial Queensland’s foremost maximum security prison for men. The Island is rich in history and has a fascinating and colourful past.Tours to the Island operate all year long and we offer Day tours or Night Ghost tours conducted by members of the St Helena Theatre Troupe.
Visit St Helena Island Penal Establishment for Men, by day… or for the more adventurous try the ‘Secrets of St Helena – Ghost Tour’ (Night Tour). Enjoy the scenic views as you cruise to St Helena. Tour the old prison and enjoy our picnic lunch in the Superintendent’s Gardens. Our qualified actors/tour guides will entertain you with fascinating stories about the lives of those poor inmates of St Helena.
The stones of St Stephen's Cathedral are silent witnesses to the joy and hope, the grief and anguish of generations of Catholic families.
In the quiet corners of this cathedral, those who shed tears of regret have found peace, those who sighed with weariness have gone out with new strength, those who were lost have discovered a way. Under the arches of this building, candles of hope and trust have flickered through the years. Here, those in love have pledged to be true to one another all the days of their lives. Here, they have brought their children to be baptised and confirmed as followers of Christ. Here, they have said their last farewell to those whose death they mourn. Here, on countless occasions, the local Church has gathered around the bishop to celebrate its unity in the Eucharist.
The cathedral takes its name from the ‘cathedra’ or bishop's seat, symbol of the chief pastor and teacher of the local Church. In the cathedral, parish communities find a sign of their fellowship with each other and the expression of their unity with the Church throughout the world. The cathedral is therefore not only an important place for those who use it regularly, but for the whole city of Brisbane as it provides a sanctuary and an oasis of green that invites people to rest awhile.
Cairns Cultural Place After much anticipation and excitement the Cultural Place Is now open. Having opened its doors in Mid October 2012. This is an amazing opportunity for the public to experience many aspects of the local Aboriginal and Torres Strait culture. The Cultural Place has a Restaurant and Dining area with a performance area it can seat in excess of 150 people. The perfomances of dance and song show case the Torres Strait traditions.
The Dinner and Dance Show menu is quite extensive and features a three coarse menu with dishes such as Bush Pepper Marinated Sirloin Steak, Banana leaf and lemon wrapped Barramundi and Lemon Murtle Seasoned Kangaroo Kebabs. The cost for the Dinner and Dance Show is $69 for Adults and $34 for Children under 14.
These magical award-winning Aboriginal tours with Nugal-warra Elder, Wilfred (Willie) Gordon, are now listed as One of Australia’s Ultimate Must-Do Experiences.
Willie, the traditional story-keeper of the Nugal-warra clan, takes guests to his ancestral rock art sites at Wangaar-Wuri, high in the hills above Hope Vale, outside Cooktown. Here he shares the stories behind the art, and explains how the cave paintings speak of the essence of life and the lores of his people.
With his great smile and infectious laugh, Willie gives an amazing insight into Aboriginal culture and society, and shows how we all have a spiritual place, wherever we come from.
This is a monument to a cockroach called 'Destructo'. In a 1980 state of origin battle 'Destructo' the New South Wales cockroach challenged the World Lizard Racing Champion 'Wooden Head' to a race. Destructo won the race but in the excitement of the finish he was squashed by a Queensland Riding Boot. A monument stands on the Paroo Race Track. It reads: "Destructo - champion racing cockroach accidentally killed at this track 24/08/1980 after winning the challenge stakes against Wooden Head - champion racing lizard". It was unveiled in Eulo in 1981.
St John's Cathedral is a heritage site with cultural splendour unrivalled in Brisbane. With gothic-revival architecture that begun 100 years ago (and is still being built), the Cathedral features wood-carvings, stained-glass, 350 million year old limestone and the only fully stone-vaulted ceiling in Australia. The Cathedral's font contains pillars of fossiliferous limestone 350 million years old from Frosterley, United Kingdom, in which skeletons of Coral polyps and bi-valve shells are clearly visible. Every window in the cathedral is of significance: from the large early twentieth century Wheel window to the collection of William Bustard's work, and then the later vibrant windows of David Saunders. The Millennium Window, designed by Scott Maxwell and made by Warwick Blair, was installed in 2001. The Cathedral is set in a precinct of heritage buildings.
Leahy House was built after 1885 when the Deed of Grant was made to the Thargomindah Newspaper Company in 1885, which was owned by John and Patrick Leahy. The residence was sold to Sir Sidney Kidman, the cattle Baron in 1912. Kidman owned several properties in the Bulloo district, including Bulloo Downs and Norley Station. He wanted a voice on the Bulloo Divisional Board, as it was then known, and he therefore gave the house to his Manager Jack Watts, known as "galloping Jack", because he travelled constantly from property to property by horse. To become a Member of the Board, one had to own a house in Thargomindah. Kidman was elected to the Board in 1906 and was a member for 22 years, until his death in 1928.
The house was built of the original, locally made Mud Brick, and was continuously lived in until 1995, when the Bulloo Shire Council purchased the building for restoration purposes. Funding to assist with restoration was obtained from a Centenary of Federation Queensland Community Assistance Program Grant. Once renovations were completed, the House was then given in Trust for the residents of the Bulloo Shire, to the Thargomindah Historical Society, whose members maintain the Displays and Artefacts for the community, and visitors to the region.
Leahy House was opened as a Historical House Museum on 12th May 2001 as a part of Thargomindah's Celebrations for the Centenary of Federation. The Official Opening was conducted by Scott Fraser, Mayor of the Bulloo Shire in conjunction with John Tully, the Great Grandson of the Hon John Leahy. Leahy House has four historical rooms, some of which feature permanent displays dedicated to John Leahy, and the history of Thargomindah and surrounding Stations. One room contains Exhibits, which are rotated regularly, with the present Exhibition featuring images of Nockatunga, and the History of the Thargomindah Post Office. Leahy House is open to the public from April through to October.
For additional information please go to: http://www.thargotourism.com.au/leahy-historical-house