Find Museums Attractions in , search things to do and see in your holiday location with QLD Tourism.
Open daily with free admission the iconic Ginger Factory is one of the Sunshine Coast’s most popular tourist attractions.
Discover our story of ginger from paddock to plate and see how Buderim Ginger have become the largest processor of ginger in the world.
Experience the fascinating world of bees with our live bee show then taste our sensational varieties of honey.
Go Overboard with the gingerbread man as you set out on an exciting water voyage visiting hundreds of puppets from every port of the world.
Ride Moreton our 100 year old Ginger train as you relax in our open air carriage and enjoy our beautiful gardens.
The Ginger Factory is the perfect place to experience the authentic taste of Queensland with great shopping along with a fantastic café featuring modern Australian cuisine surrounded by acres of beautiful tropical gardens & walks.
Overboard Boat Ride
Family: $ 44.00
The Factory Tour
The Live Bee Show
Tour Double Deal – Includes the Factory tour and the Live Bee Show
Ride Double Deal – Includes the Ginger Train and the Overboard Boat Ride
Superpass – Includes all rides and attractions
Just 60 minutes north of Brisbane Airport. Follow the Bruce Highway (M1) to the Yandina/Coolum exit and follow the signs.
The triple award winning Historical Village is a self funded, all volunteer operation.
Expect to take at least two hours to fully experience the site.
Interactive demonstrations of Blacksmithing, Woodturning, Corn Shelling and Rope making on Sundays from 1pm ‘til 3pm. Make your own souvenir rope or pedal the lathe and make your own wooden souvenir.
The Museum can be opened any time for groups and schools and there is an urn, cups, table and chairs for groups available at no extra cost.
A new BBQ area is available to visitors/Groups at no extra cost including a hot water dispenser.
Picnic tables are now available in the shady Memorial Garden area
The Church, non-denominational, is available for weddings. (Contact Yvonne on 4124 5257)
In 2001, the museum opened its doors to the public after a year of extensive refurbishment. With Commonwealth Centenary of Federation funding, the resulting 'ship complex' has attracted a great deal of community support. Located on the southern bank of Ross Creek, the boardwalk overlooks the Townsville motorboat and yacht club, while the entrance gate opens out onto Palmer Street's inviting coffee and restaurant strip.
The original museum was begun by the Seafarers Association to ensure the safe keeping of local maritime cultural history. It was located in the Pier Master's office between berths 4 and 6 at the Townsville port.
To allow for the expanding collection and ease of public access, in 1992 the building was picked up, loaded onto a house-moving trailer and driven down the road to where is standstoday. This was made possible through the generosity of the community and the Port of Townsville, who remain the museum's major sponsors.
Following the arrival of the Bay Rock lighthouse a short time laterm the new 'Seafarers' Gallery was opened in 1994. The museums continues to grow.
The new complex opened in August 2001 and has attracted many local, regional and international visitors.
St Helena Island is Queensland’s most historic island. This beautiful National Park is located four kilometres from the mouth of the Brisbane River and for more than 60 years was home to hundreds of society’s outcasts, for here stood colonial Queensland’s foremost maximum security prison for men. The Island is rich in history and has a fascinating and colourful past.Tours to the Island operate all year long and we offer Day tours or Night Ghost tours conducted by members of the St Helena Theatre Troupe.
Visit St Helena Island Penal Establishment for Men, by day… or for the more adventurous try the ‘Secrets of St Helena – Ghost Tour’ (Night Tour). Enjoy the scenic views as you cruise to St Helena. Tour the old prison and enjoy our picnic lunch in the Superintendent’s Gardens. Our qualified actors/tour guides will entertain you with fascinating stories about the lives of those poor inmates of St Helena.
The MacArthur Museum Brisbane introduces visitors to a critical time in Brisbane’s history – the dark days of World War Two.
Visit the office where MacArthur planned the Allied campaigns in the South-West Pacific and his famous, ‘I shall return’ campaign for the recapture of the Philippines.
Experience Brisbane during the dark years of 1942 to 1944 – when streets were lined with air-raid shelters, and warships and submarines crowded the banks of the Brisbane River.
Explore a time of censorship, rationing and blackouts, when adults and children carried ID cards, and housewives queued for food supplies.
The Queensland Police Museum offers visitors the opportunity to enter the world of policing. Displays depict the history of the Queensland Police Service from 1864 to present day, giving an insight into different police sections. Visitors can test their detective skills by using clues from the simulated murder scene to solve a crime.
Other displays illustrate infamous Brisbane crimes, real murder cases, a Shrine of Honour and police transport.
QUT Art Museum has a nationally significant collection focused on contemporary Australian art. The six galleries provide an engaging space for exhibitions. It is situated within QUT Gardens Cultural Precinct, Brisbane City.
The QUT Art Museum is proud to display collection based exhibitions, major touring exhibitions, as well as QUT student exhibitions. Guided tours and free public programs, including the "Meet the Artist" series, provide a diverse range of activities to compliment the exhibitions.
Take a trip back in time to when trams were the lifeblood of Brisbane City. See why they were so popular with the people of Brisbane and discover why many cities are returning to this viable form of public transportation. Rediscover the romance that Brisbane has lost, but not forgotten.
Tours of the museum and display hall plus tram rides on restored 1901 - 1969 Brisbane Tramcars are available each Sunday. Special mid-week group charters are available by prior arrangement.
The Nursing Museum is located on the first two levels of the 1931 wing of Lady Lamington Building, formerly the Nurses’ Home, in the grounds of the Royal Brisbane Hospital. The Lady Lamington Building is heritage listed on the Register of the National Estate, the National Trust Register and the Queensland Heritage Register. Lady Lamington, the wife of the Governor of the day laid the foundation stone on 14 September 1896. Robin S. Dodds was the architect of the original 1896 “L” shaped building. The 1896 building provided accommodation for the Head Nurse, four Charge Nurses, fifty trainee nurses and four servants. A second wing was added to the Nurses\' Home in 1914 providing a further 98 cubicles for nursing staff, mainly trainee nurses.
With the growth of the Brisbane population in the 1930s and the increasing needs of the community during the economic depression, the Brisbane and South Coast Hospital Board appointed Architectural firm, Conrad, Atkinson and Powell to develop a modern hospital on the Herston site. Similarly at this time there was a need to train more nurses to staff the new wards and services buildings. The 1931 building facing the north-east, provided an additional 105 cubicles mainly for trainee nurses bringing the total accommodation provided for nursing staff at that time to 207. This wing has four floor levels and was used as night duty accommodation for the trainees. Sitting rooms, each with a fireplace, were a feature of the two top floors.
The Queensland Energy Museum highlights our energy heritage with an array of objects and displays illustrating the social history of the electricity and gas supply industry. Early documents are available for visitors to browse or undertake serious research.
The collection is being expanded to include all forms of energy.
Displays are set out chronologically from early 1800s to the modern era, relating the history of Queenslanders\' service in the Queensland and Commonwealth Defence forces, both in times of peace and during war, and of the Allies of the Colony and Commonwealth in war.
Day and evening tours are available by prior arrangement for interested groups.
In the 1880s the museum building housed Mohoupts’ General Store and a local funeral business. In 1993 the building was purchased by the Society and officially opened as a museum in 1994. The Society\\'s collection is housed in an air-conditioned, single storey brick building. The museum features a wall display of chronological history; a thematic display under glass; various free-standing historical items; a small library of books, video tapes and slides; a large paper collection on file of localities and identities; and a large collection of photographs. Historical books produced by the Society and souvenirs are on sale. The Society provides guided tours of local historical areas and lectures delivered at local schools.
Visitors are guided through the museum by ex PMG employees who worked with the equipment during their telecommunication career. Several exhibits are \\'hands on\\' with working manual and automatic phone exchanges, Morse code sets and working pairs of teleprinters (TELEX machines).
Follow the telecommunications evolution from Morse code to today\\'s advanced telephone systems. Historic photographs are also on display.
Bundaberg's first railway station, built in 1881 as an outlet for the Mt Perry railway bringing copper from the mines, is now preserved as a railway museum. Located some 500 metres from its original site, the museum houses a wide variety of railway items past and present.
Visit the Historical Proserpine Museum, where you can learn about the interesting history of this sugar cane and cattle town. The establishment of a permanent museum in the Whitsunday region was a major initiative with strong support throughout the whole community. The facility is a multi-purpose venue, which houses the museum collection, and offers the opportunity for genealogical and extensive local history research. It affords educational benefits to their youth and has been embraced as a cultural centre for their local arts and crafts and travelling exhibitions. The museum will 'Bridge the Decades since Federation' with historical thought-provoking displays which showcase the most significant achievements of this region during the last century.
Set in the lush Bundaberg Botanic Gardens, the Hinkler Hall of Aviation brings to life the adventures and achievements of Australia's famous pioneer solo aviator Bert Hinkler. Become part of the story through interactive displays; fly like Bert on distinctive glide and flight simulators, be enthralled by Bert's life achievements in the movie theatrettes and sit in the replica Avro Baby aircraft. With numerous full size display aircraft exhibits and unique museum artefacts, including the beautifully restored Hinkler House ‘Mon Repos’, Bert Hinkler’s relocated Southampton home, this memorable and extraordinary experience to Bundaberg, Queensland is a must do aviation adventure.
The Wax Museum is the largest in the southern hemisphere.
At the Wax Museum you can meet famous people who made history- Movie Stars, Scientists, Explorers, Villains and World Leaders all presented with startling realism and dressed in authentically reproduced costumes of their times.
"The figures are so life-like the visitor could be excused for expecting them to walk and talk".
There are two sections to the Museum:
The WORLD IN WAX provides a series of snapshots of the people who have shaped and continue to shape our lives, It presents human beings in ll their variety. This exhibit included Dioramas of Australian History and Nersery Rymes, Replicas of the Crown Jewls and Fantasia Macabre, a unique and little seen collection of mythical characters from fiction features such macabre identities as Count Dracula, Frankenstein Monster, The Thing, The Zombie, The Werewolf & many other creatures from Legend, folklore & literature.
The Chamber of Horrors is a grim, staggering record of Human Cruelty throughout the ages... More spine chilling than fiction, is the only display of its kind in the world.
The Redcliffe Museum celebrates the evolution of the Peninsula’s character and identity, and its significance to the world around it. In exploring past triumphs and tragedies, contemporary interests and future aspirations, the Museum becomes a vibrant, interactive and perpetual reminder of the region’s past, present and future.
St Helena Island is Queensland's most historic island. This beautiful National Park is located four kilometres from the mouth of the Brisbane River and for more than 60 years was home to hundreds of society's outcasts, for here stood colonial Queensland's foremost maximum security prison for men. The Island is rich in history and has a fascinating and colourful past.
Cat-o'-Nine Tails Cruises have been operating educational and historical tours to St Helena Island since 1982. Our modern 17 metre catamaran, Cat-O'-Nine-Tails, takes only 30 minutes to reach the Island from Brisbane's bayside suburb of Manly.
Tours to the Island operate all year long and we offer Day tours or Night 'Secrets of St Helena' conducted by members of the St Helena Theatre Troupe.
These tours won the prestigious Queensland Tourism Award for Heritage and Cultural Tourism in 1998.
The Museum warmly welcomes you as an individual, family or group. Visitors will be delighted with our broad collection of exhibitss and archival resource material.
The Historical Society of Beaudesert is helping to preserve the stories and legacies of our pioneers from the days of the Moreton Bay settlement to the present day. Individuals, groups, families and school classes are all invited to the Beaudesert Museum to see our Celebration of Australian ingenuity. Find more information about School Visits and Group Tours to the museum.
The Historical Society of Beaudesert houses a collection of manuscripts, printed materials, photographs and maps relating to the history of the area.
The Army Museum of North Queensland is located within Jezzine Barracks, at Kissing Point in Townsville. The Museum collects and exhibits memorabilia associated with past and current Army units and personnel from North Queensland, including a geographic area between Rockhampton in the south, extending north to Torres Strait and west to the Northern Territory border.
The history of the Museum dates back to 1979, where the North Queensland Military Museum committee of management approached the Townsville Harbour Board with a request to obtain several door and lintel frames from the Magazine Island Battery. The Harbour board agreed and the items were incorporated into the reconstruction of 1980.
This allowed Fort Kissing Point to open as the North Queensland Military Museum until the 1st of August 2008, when it was closed for further restoration. Following the closure of the original Museum at the Kissing Point Forts and the handover of a majority of Jezzine Barracks to the Jezzine Barracks Community Trust, the retained Defence land within Jezzine Barracks underwent a significant period of refurbishment. North Queensland Military Museum, was renamed the Army Museum of North Queensland and relocated to its current premises in 2009.
Jezzine Barracks has been the home to Australian Army units for over 120 years and is now a fitting home to showcase the Museum and its extensive Collection of the history of the Army in North Queensland.
The Collections extends from the establishment of the first defences at Townsville and Thursday Island until the present day. The Museum is in the newly refurbished building at the centre of Jezzine Barracks. Showcased within the Museum is a gallery displaying pre-federation Army and a gallery showing more recent conflicts of Vietnam and Korea, and the history of Sir John Lavarack and Lavarack Barracks.
The earliest history of the Army in North Queensland can be traced back to the early 1880’s when volunteer independent Rifle Companies were formed at Charters Towers, Townsville, Bowen, Cairns, Cooktown, Hughenden, Ingham, Mackay Thursday Island and Ravenswood. On October 30"' 1886, the 3rd Queensland or Kennedy Regiment was gazetted, based at Kissing Point Townsville with Major William Slade Vincent as its first commanding officer.
Welcome to the home of the Royal Australian Air Force Townsville Museum. The RAAF Townsville Museum was established in Townsville to document the aviation and military history of North Queensland. The Royal Australian Airforce Townsville Museum has extensive collections located in historical buildings located on the Townsville RAAF Base.
The dedicated team of the RAAF Townsville Museum have painstakingly upgraded, restored and built advance multimedia displays at the RAAF Townsville Museum that provide you an insight into the North Queensland Aviation history from World War II to the present day. The RAAF Townsville Museum contains artifacts that have been kindly donated or acquired through purchases provided by key benefactors of the RAAF Townsville Museum. This has ensured that the local North Queensland History of the Townsville RAAF is not lost forever.
The Townsville Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Cultural Centre will delight and inform visitors with its Exhibitions and performances, it provides an insight into the traditional and contemporary life and cultural practices of the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people, and is an ideal venue for promoting their exceptional artworks to the wider world.
The Cultural Centre is a place to preserve, celebrate and display...
A variety of informative and appealing activities are provided by the Cultural Centre. These include
Performances by both Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islanders
Traditional dance performances can be seen at the Centre. Our Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander dance troupe can also be booked to perform at functions and venues outside of the Cultural Centre.
The Townsville Museum is the only museum whose displays are solely dedicated to the history of Townsville. The Museum's document collections extend beyond the Townsville area into the North Queensland hinterland, and provide researchers with valuable resource material.
In addition to its Exhibition Halls, Townsville Museum also has an area dedicated to researchers. Here you may examine documents, books and photographs containing crucial information about our region. The museum also provides talks to give you further insight into our Townsville past and runs workshops on Museum techniques.
The Central Queensland Military Museum houses artefacts from the military history of Rockhampton and surrounding districts. It includes American Army uniforms from World War II and a room devoted entirely to Rockhampton history. The collection includes: Women at War display, Personal diaries, war photographs, Light horse memorabilia, Badges and Medals, Personal collections from Vietnam Veterans. All of the items are donated by the local community. So come along with your family and friends and explore the past at this very well presented museum. Tour groups and schools are welcome to come along and are catered for on request. Step back in time at the CQ Military and Artefacts Museum.
Bring the whole family along and take a nostalgic trip into transport history by visiting Winton's Diamantina Heritage Truck and Machinery Museum. The museum features historic trucks, vehicles and machinery as well as photographic and transport memorabilia. It's a fun and educational day out for the whole family to enjoy.
The Queensland Maritime Museum was established in 1971 and is a fantastic visitor experience. The museum features the historic warship Diamantina, the 1925 steam tug Forceful, the heritage listed South Brisbane Dry Dock, and a large collection of exhibits such as Jessica's Pink Lady. Visitors can board the Diamantina at her berth in the dry dock and access throughout the vessel is visitor friendly. She is especially popular with younger visitors. The Diamantina has been restored to her 1945 condition and she is the only one of her kind left in the world. Completed in 1881 the South Brisbane Dry Dock housing the Diamantina and a lightship is the centrepiece of the Museum. Visitors can gain easy access to the dry dock and marvel at its construction and the large warship above them. Lighthouses are popular exhibits and the Museum has a very special presentation of lighthouse technology. Their volunteer workforce are only too pleased to welcome visitors.
The UQ Marks-Hirschfeld Museum houses one of the finest collections of medical memorabilia and medical and surgical instruments in Australia. It includes instruments and equipment such as nineteenth century carbolic spray (used for antisepsis during surgery) and a copy of the apparatus Wilhelm Roentgen used to discover X-rays in 1895. The museum serves scholars and researchers as well as visitors and forms a focus on the medical past which brings a better perspective to the present.
Visitors are guided through the Telstra Museum Brisbane by ex PMG employees who worked with the equipment during their telecommunication career. Several exhibits are 'hands on' with working manual and automatic phone exchanges, Morse code sets and working pairs of teleprinters (TELEX machines). Follow the telecommunications evolution from morse code to today's advanced telephone systems. Historic photographs are also on display.
The Museum was established in 1988 to display scientific instruments and devices dating back to the origin of The University of Queensland in 1911. Optical, electrical, acoustical and many other types of equipment are represented. As well as the near antiques, with their shining brass and glowing mahogany, the collection also houses examples of more modern but equally obsolete items like electron tubes, spiral slide rules, a computer cardpunch and sheets of computer magnetic core memory. Most of the items on display are of interest as they illustrate principles of physics and highlight the craftsmanship involved in their making. The museum also has collections of relevant books, catalogues and instruction manuals.
The Victoria Barracks Museum collection includes weapons which saw service in Australian, Allied and enemy forces between 1899 and 1972. Medals on display include Boer War, First World War and Second World War campaign and gallantry awards. A comprehensive display of replica medals enables easy identification of medals issued to Australian servicemen and women from approximately 1860 to 1980. A range of research publications is also held by the Museum. The museum is located close to the heart of Brisbane in Petrie Terrace.
The museum is located within a working army barracks and displays uniforms, medals, equipment, banners, original battlefield artefacts, photos and memorabilia. Featured light horse items from 1860-1942 cover colonial times, the Boer War, WWI and militia days. Royal Australian Armoured Corps history on display from 1942 - present includes SW Pacific, Vietnam, East Timor and Iraq. Group tours can be scheduled by prior arrangement.
The Samford District Historical Museum boasts a comprehensive collection of buildings of local significance and purpose built replicas. There's also an Aboriginal kippa-making ceremony diorama as well as displays featuring local rural industries, horse-drawn transport, Ferny Grove to Dayboro railway (1918 to 1955), education and domestic life. Groups, by prior arrangement, can be entertained with demonstrations of old-time working with timber skills, blacksmithing, olden day school and more. Researchers will be amazed at the reference collection of photographs, published local history books, newspaper cuttings, historical maps and other files covering Samford district's growth and changes since the mid 1850s to current times. The rustic and rural buildings also provide ideal settings for wedding photos.
With more than 3,000 works on display, The University of Queensland Art Collection is Queensland's second-largest public art collection. The Collection comprises works by Australian artists from the colonial era to the present, and the Nat Yuen Collection of Chinese antiquities. As well as these, UQ Art Museum is developing the National Collection of Artists' Self Portraits, the only collection of its kind in Australia. Architect Hamilton Wilson of Wilson Architects transformed the Museum in 2004, after the building was originally designed in 1973 as the University's graduation hall. Guided tours are available to the general public on request.
The Nursing Museum presents a unique collection in a unique setting. Displays depict stories of nurses and nursing from late nineteenth century to late twentieth century - aspects of 'living-in', photographic images, nursing uniforms, textbooks, hospital and clinical equipment, operating theatre equipment, an 'iron lung'. A patient model lends authenticity to the displays. The Museum is open Tuesdays 11.00am to 2.00pm.
The Diamantina Healthcare Museum displays the history of the site and hospitals where the Princess Alexandra Hospital now stands (1883 - present). Prominence is given to key persons in the original hospital, including Countess Diamantina Roma, Foundation Matron Chatfield, Dispenser Staubwasser and V.M.O Jefferis Turner. A broad spectrum of memorabilia is on display. The memorabilia reflects the history of over 100 years of healthcare at the Princess Alexandra Hospital.
After closure of the Muttaburra Hospital in 1974, the building was converted to a historical display and general museum. The operating theatre dates back to 1933 and is still equipped. The Museum is a memorial to Dr Arratta who arrived in Muttaburra in 1925. He was awarded the MBE in 1962 for 35 years of service to the community. The museum is open for inspection on request. Alongside the Dr Arratta Memorial Museum is the Cassimatis General Store and the Cassimatis Family Cottage Museum.
The Clermont Historical Centre and Museum has a collection of 8,000 historical artefacts contributed by local families, companies and properties in the region and a wealth of resources thanks to dedicated volunteers. Some of the Items on display include a power shovel from Blair Athol, an old train, the old Masonic Lodge, an old steam engine which was used to shift the town after the flood, a shearing shed and fire engine - to name but a few.